VILLAGE OF CLAYTON BOARD MINUTES JANUARY 03, 2017

The Village of Clayton Board of Trustees met in regular session on January 03, 2017 at the Village Municipal Building. President Jennifer Bergmann called the meeting to order at 7:18 PM. Roll call: Scott Donath, Dennis Heiken, Jon Bartz, Shawn Schradle, Doug Anderson, and Travis Krueger. A quorum of seven (7) was confirmed. Also present were Public Works Director Sheldon Donath, Police Chief Grant Pickard, Don Kittelson, Bill Vanda, Alan Gabe, Jr., Bob Wright, and Evan Wright. All joined in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion by Bartz to approve the agenda, second by Anderson. Voice vote: Ayes-7 Nays-0 Motion carried.

Motion by Schradle to approve the minutes from the December 05, 2016 regular board meeting, as well as the December 14, 2016 Budget Hearing, second by Donath. Voice vote: Ayes-7 Nays-0 Motion carried.

Motion by Heiken to accept the Treasurer's November, 2016 bank reconciliation and the December, 2016 check registers, second by Anderson. Voice vote: Ayes-7 Nays-0 Motion carried.

Public comment: The Wright's addressed the board to thank them for putting a Constitutional Amendment question on the November ballot and laid out the next steps to be taken by the village (Clerk).

Motion by Anderson to approve Staab Construction Pay Requests #9 & #10 in the amounts of \$123,500.00 and \$448,003.03, contingent upon all required approval signatures, second by Krueger. Voice vote: Ayes-7 Nays-0 Motion carried.

Motion by Schradle to approve Foth Infrastructure and Environmental invoices in the amounts of \$8,685.80 and \$18,391.55, second by Bartz. Voice vote: Ayes-7 Nays-0 Motion carried.

The Oath of Ofiice was administered by the Village Clerk to Donald Kittelson, sworn in as Fire Chief.

Motion by Heiken to authorize the Clerk/Treasurer to secure a \$20,000 short-term loan from Citizens State Bank per 2017 budget, second by Bartz. Voice vote: Ayes-7 Nays-0 Motion carried.

After discussion, the village Can-Do Organization request for additional village financial support was postponed to a future meeting.

Seven samples were recently taken at the Ringstad property and all contained no asbestos. The silver paint on the building has lead, but is not an issue if disposed of properly.

Motion by Anderson to complete the quit claim deeding of the Ringstad property, second by Schradle. Voice vote: Ayes-7 Nays-0 Motion carried.

Department Reports

Administration / Planning Commission:

Clerk – Tax bills got mailed out timely despite the lateness of the budget hearing. Collection has been going well.

Bergmann – Planning Commission is waiting for information from potential new business owner. A letter from the village attorney regarding Curtis Ventures was shared. Bert Peterson of Cedar Corporation has retired.

Public Works & Utilities:

LRIP grant payment for Woodland Trails project has been received. Used street sweeper from Village of Clear Lake has been picked up – clerk needs to make payment in January. Ringstad property was discussed on earlier agenda item. Board affirmed MSHA Refresher Training for both public works employees.

Motion by Anderson to approve the purchase of bulk antifreeze (\$4.76 / gal.) and motor oil (\$4.92 / gal.), second by Krueger. Voice vote: Ayes-7 Nays-0 Motion carried.

Recommendation to delay the \$3,200 electrode replacement in the water tower. Negotiating with Cedar and Staab on the water meter for the WWTP. WWTP progress report and pending change order for headworks pump hatch.

Police Department:

The department logged 43 calls for service, made 1 arrest, and issued 4 citations and 14 warnings. There were 12 new cases, 9 assists to other departments, 3 outside assists to the Clayton PD, 0 court hours, 1 animal complaint, and 0 hours of foot patrol. 1.038 miles were put on the squad car. The squad car sustained considerable deer damage on Dec. 30th while responding to a Polk County call. Insurance claim to be filed and guard will be installed on the squad after repair.

Fire Department:

There were 2 fire calls and 5 medical calls in December. Scene Size Up training was conducted.

Motion by Bartz to approve the 2017 Fire Department Officer List:

Trustees: Crystal Zacharias, Troy Jackson, Mindy Krumrey Fire Inspectors: Don Kittelson, Alan Gabe, Jr. Captains: Jake Balog, Travis Krueger, Jenny Bergmann Assistant Training: Alan Gabe Training: Jestin Zacharias Sec/Treas: Jenny Bergmann 2nd Assistant Chief: Bill Vanda 1st Assistant Chief: Sheldon Donath Chief: Don Kittelson

First Responders President: Bill Vanda First Responders Vice President: Jake Balog First Responders Sec./Treas.: Sheldon Donath

second by Donath. Voice vote: Ayes-7 Nays-0 Motion carried.

Motion to adjourn by Krueger at 8:45 PM, second by Anderson. Voice vote: Ayes-7 Nays-0 Motion carried.

David Fall, Village Clerk